Georgia's Blog

Welcome

By

Salty Beginnings

I’ve started reading the novel the price of salt by Patricia Highsmith. So far, it has been really entertaining although I am and not very far along in the book. The main character, Therese, is very interesting as she is very thoughtful and seems to understand a lot about the world around her without having to be directly taught about it. I have so far found myself appreciating the fact that although the book is old,  it still is moving at a decent pace and isn’t being filled with pages that are utterly boring and useless to the overall story. Furthermore, the authors’ informal portrayal of Therese without much context or history to her life  so far has done a good job of drawing me into the story. The limited third person point of view provides a nice snow-globe affect to the story which is also very entertaining, giving insight to the main character’s life whilst keeping everyone else at a slight distance.

So far I haven’t found much I dislike about the book, it has maintained a good pace, interesting characters, and realistic (enough) dialogue. But, I do fear that in the book’s near future upon reading it will become very dull, but hopefully I’ll be imersed in it enough to not mind. Furthermore as of now the language of the book is easy to understand, but if the sentence structure starts to vary more it may become harder to understand whaat the author is trying to physically say reading between the dense lines of symbolism and literary devices. An actual issue I do you have the book, is that the author has teased a lot of information, leaving out gaps and why it is relative or important to the story at all. Had she provided more information on characters such as Richard or the place she worked, the reader would have a better understanding of the general vibe she was going for to create what I believe would be the illusion of a working class young female in the time period.  A small pet peeve I have is the book as of now is I’m worried the title of the book will never be explained or compared it to the actual story, which would be very disappointing.  But so long as it is at least mentioned once, I will probably be satisfied with the title. I can’t wait to continue reading and watch the characters evolve!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar